HSR Refresher OHS Training Course

 
Times: 8:30am - 4:30pm.

Cost: $360.00 per person if delivered at either our Notting Hill or Trafalgar training facility, or $390.00 per person at any other venue.

Prices shown are inclusive of GST, comprehensive course notes and catering.

Dates (2024)LocationBook
Tuesday, 23 January 2024Notting HillClosed
Thursday, 22 February 2024Notting HillClosed
Monday, 26 February 2024TrafalgarClosed
Thursday, 14 March 2024Notting HillClosed
Friday, 15 March 2024SaleClosed
Thursday, 4 April 2024TrafalgarClosed
Thursday, 18 April 2024GeelongClosed
Friday, 19 April 2024Notting HillClosed
Thursday, 9 May 2024Notting HillClosed
Friday, 17 May 2024TraralgonClosed
Tuesday, 28 May 2024BendigoClosed
Friday, 31 May 2024Melbourne Closed
Friday, 7 June 2024Notting HillClosed
Tuesday, 18 June 2024TrafalgarBook
Tuesday, 2 July 2024SaleBook
Tuesday, 16 July 2024Notting HillBook
Monday, 12 August 2024TrafalgarBook
Monday, 19 August 2024GeelongBook
Monday, 9 September 2024Melbourne Book
Monday, 23 September 2024Notting HillBook
Wednesday, 2 October 2024SaleBook
Wednesday, 9 October 2024TrafalgarBook
Friday, 18 October 2024BendigoBook
Monday, 21 October 2024Notting HillBook
Monday, 18 November 2024SaleBook
Monday, 25 November 2024TrafalgarBook
Monday, 9 December 2024Notting HillBook

 

This course is one of our publicly run courses.

This course can also be run for a group at your workplace.  If you are interested you can contact us  on 1800 429 266 or email us at training@hazcon.com.au

Duration: 1 Day

Aim:  A WorkSafe approved HSR Refresher OHS Training Course is an opportunity for HSRs to revisit aspects of the HSR Initial OHS Training Course and refresh their knowledge on the following topics;

  • Elements of the OHS legislative framework;
  • Designated Work Groups;
  • The value of being an HSR;
  • HSR powers;
  • Experiences as an HSR;
  • Explaining the term 'reasonably practicable';
  • Issue resolution;
  • Risk management overview;
  • Types of workplace hazards including psychosocial hazards;
  • Determining risk levels and controls;
  • Employer/employee duty of care;
  • The importance of consultation and reporting;
  • Incident management and investigation;
  • Latest developments and initiatives in OHS; and
  • WorkSafe guidance material and website.

Target Audience: Anyone who has completed the WorkSafe Victoria Approved Health & Safety Representative Initial OHS Training Course.

All HSR training courses reference the OHS Act 2004 and cover the obligations of key duty holders, HSR powers and entitlements, hazard identification and controls, consultation, issue resolution and Provisional Improvement Notices (PINS)/Direction to cease work. If you have any questions please call us on 1800 429 266.

The course is interactive, activity based and uses video clips from WorkSafe Victoria.

The vision at WorkSafe Victoria is to see Victorian workers returning home safe every day. WorkSafe regard Health and Safety Representative's (HSR's), together with employers, managers, supervisors and employees as making a vital contribution to making this happen.

Please note:

Under the OHS Act 2004 (section 67), all elected HSRs and deputy HSRs, after completing an initial course of training, have an entitlement for each year they hold office to attend a WorkSafe-approved HSR refresher OHS training course. An employer, if requested, must allow the HSR/Deputy HSR to attend on paid time, pay the cost of the course and any other associated costs. Section 67 also allows HSRs to choose the course, in consultation with their employer. 

Resources for HSRs

General information https://www.worksafe.vic.gov.au/health-and-safety-representatives

HSR Support Officers https://www.worksafe.vic.gov.au/health-and-safety-representative-support-officers-hsrsos 

WorkSafe Victoria Compliance codes https://www.worksafe.vic.gov.au/compliance-codes-and-codes-practice

Course titles have changed due to WorkSafe's revision of current learning outcomes, however the content of all the HSR training courses still reference the OHS Act 2004 and cover the obligations of key duty holders, HSR powers and entitlements, hazard identification and controls, consultation, issue resolution and PINS/Direction to cease work. If you have any questions regarding these changes please call us on 1800 429 266.

Latest
News

How would you respond in an emergency?

Posted by Richard Forster on 9 April 2024
How would you respond in an emergency and are your people trained as wardens? Emergency situations can be many and varied. Ask yourself, does your...
 

Crystalline Silica Update

Posted by Richard Forster on 1 April 2024
From 1 July 2024, the use, manufacturing, supply, processing and installation of engineered stone will be banned in Victoria. Some exceptions will...
 
< Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | Next >

Safety Chat Newsletter

Training & Services Brochure

BookmarkTell a friendPrint